BMW CONNECTEDDRIVE
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
There are basically two different types of e-mail account. In the case of a "POP3" e-mail account, the messages are retrieved from the server and deleted from the server in the process. This means, for example, that you can no longer access these e-mails from a second computer. In the case of IMAP mailboxes, the e-mail messages are not deleted, but, instead, copies of them are stored in your e-mail program. You can link several e-mail programs with the mailbox. Changes are then replicated in every e-mail program and you can retrieve your e-mail messages as often as you wish.
View full article
Data are always linked to the vehicle identification number of your vehicle and stored in order to render BMW ConnectedDrive services, but are not linked to your name. In some cases it is possible to render the services on the basis of anonymised data, in which case they are not linked to your vehicle identification number. The allocation of data to your name (or your user account) takes place within the scope of using personalised services, such as remote services.
View full article
In individual cases, there may be delays in the despatch of the e-mail. If you have not received an e-mail within 24 hours, please register again or contact BMW ConnectedDrive Customer Support.
View full article
Follow these steps to add your vehicle and open up new features: • Tap the "Add Vehicle" link near the top of the "Vehicle" screen • Connect your phone to your vehicle via USB to automatically transfer your vehicle information, or manually enter the last 7 characters of your vehicle identification number (VIN) – this can be found in your BMW service agreement or at the base of your car’s windshield (in North America) • Select Primary or Secondary user account – choose Primary unless another user is already linked to the same vehicle (this step is only applicable to users in North America; please disregard if you are located outside of North America) • Locate the code sent to your vehicle under the "Messages" folder within the "ConnectedDrive" menu • Input the code into the app where prompted Once this process has been completed there may be a waiting period while the vehicle you have inputted is confirmed and displayed on the "Vehicle" screen. Note: After purchasing a new vehicle there is a standard account set-up period, during which time your ConnectedDrive account is linked to your new vehicle. Therefore, please wait a few days after the purchase date before attempting to add your vehicle in the app.
View full article
When you login to your ConnectedDrive account at www.bmw-connecteddrive.nsc you will be able to see your BMW at the top of the screen and then on the right-hand column a list of currently active services and below this a link to services that are available to add to your BMW.
View full article
This information can be found in the overview list of the ConnectedDrive Store. All services you have purchased for your vehicle are marked with an expiration date. You can renew a service 14 days before the expiration date.
View full article
BMW does not have access to the contact information provided by the third parties. When in doubt, you can revoke the transfer of telematics data to the third party at any time.
View full article
No. BMW has no influence on this. In the event of any questions, please contact the third party directly.
View full article
The services and functions in My BMW ConnectedDrive use modern browser technologies and programming languages. You should therefore use a JavaScript-capable browser or activate the JavaScript functions in the browser.
View full article
Only to partner companies/ third parties/ service providers registered with BMW, following your approval.
View full article
For security reasons only BMW can delete your account. In order to delete your account contact BMW Customer Service.
View full article
In some cases, vehicles older than model year 2014 may not be equipped with the technology necessary to support the app, and therefore cannot be added in the app. If you have a 2014 or newer vehicle and are experiencing an error, log out of the app from the “Profile” page within the “More” tab, then log back in again. Alternatively, you can try adding your vehicle from the BMW ConnectedDrive web portal (www.bmw-connecteddrive.com). If errors continue, please visit the app’s “About” page within the “More” tab to find contact information for your local support center.
View full article
The transfer and storage of your personal data are subject to the most stringent security standards of the BMW Group. Your details, such as credit card information, address and e-mail address, are automatically encrypted by means of SSL protocol. SSL is the industry standard for the transfer of confidential data via the Internet. No information is stored in the actual vehicle
View full article
You have received your personal access data for BMW ConnectedDrive via email or text message and have then activated the services in your BMW. You can use this access data to log in on our website www.bmw-connecteddrive.nsc. If you have not submitted an email address with your personal data please make sure to do so in order to use BMW ConnectedDrive. Following this you just need to register your vehicle in the portal and directly manage your personalized services based on your needs.
View full article
Yes, as described in the BMW ConnectedDrive terms and conditions, you must remove your vehicle from your BMW ConnectedDrive Account once you have sold the vehicle.
View full article
Via the BMW ConnectedDrive Portal you can request a BMW CarData transaction report.
View full article
In the BMW ConnectedDrive Portal select "My Account" and then "My Personal Data". In the menu "Access Data" you will be able to change the password.
View full article
Either you have not yet added a vehicle to your user account in the "Manage vehicles" menu or you have removed a vehicle that had been added. When you add a vehicle, it may take up to 24 hours before it is displayed in My BMW ConnectedDrive.
View full article
You are able to cancel the booking of a service within 14 days of the purchase.For the reimbursement process the same method of payment of the purchase is used.
View full article
First, log in to the BMW ConnectedDrive Portal. Under "Add Vehicles" enter the last seven digits of your vehicle identification number and press "Add Vehicle". Following this a security code is sent to your vehicle. The security code is found in the menu under "Messages". The code must be entered in the portal in order to directly manage and edit your personalized services. In addition you wil receive an e-mail, confirming that the vehicle has been added to your customer account.
View full article